Lexington Three Celebrates School Board Recognition Month

Lexington County School District Three is joining school districts throughout the state and nation to celebrate School Board Recognition Month in January. More than 600 locally-elected and appointed school board members throughout the state will be recognized by schools and communities for their service and dedication to public education.
In Lexington Three, school board members develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational issues impacting the entire community. They bear responsibility for more than 2,000 students and around 400 employees.
The men and women serving Lexington County School District Three have 71 years of combined experience as Board of Trustees members. Current Board of Trustees members are: Frances Bouknight, Cheryl Burgess, Sonya Cary, Craig Caughman, Stacey Derrick, Rev. Leon Drafts, and Dr. Gariane Gunter.
Mrs. Cheryl Burgess also currently serves as the president of the South Carolina School Boards Association (SCSBA). She was sworn in for her term back in December.
We salute our Board of Trustees members and thank them for their selfless service and commitment to our students!