Science » Overview



The members of the Science Department are Allison Cook (Department Head), Davis Bowne, Leslie Campbell, and Darlene Waters.

The State of South Carolina requires three units in science for a high school diploma. All science courses have laboratory requirements and may have special requirements related to that course. Students planning to major in a scientific field, engineering, pre-med, or mathematics should select an advanced science in their senior year. Science offerings include Earth Science, Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Biology II, and AP Environmental Science. Additionally, through dual enrollment students may take AST 101, AST 102, BIO 101, and BIO 205. Students are encouraged to develop scientific thinking and real-world application of scientific skills through laboratory practice, authentic texts, and choice-based pathways. Additional support is regularly available during Half-Time. Contact your science teacher for more details. 

Digging deep into research in AP Environmental Science:Research in Environmental Science