Lexington Three Celebrates School Board Recognition Month

Lexington County School District Three is joining school districts throughout the state and nation to celebrate School Board Recognition Month in January. Nearly 600 locally-elected and appointed school board members throughout South Carolina will be recognized by schools and communities for their service and dedication to public education.

This year's theme “Forward, Together” reminds us all to celebrate the unique role school boards play in championing and advocating for quality education and the ownership they take in governing their local public schools. As the representatives of the people in their local communities, school board members represent their local communities’ voice and vision for public schools.

Lexington Three Board of Trustees members were recognized for their service at their monthly meeting on Tuesday, January 10th. Along with other gifts, each Board member received a special "Forward, Together" yard sign for their personal use. These signs will also be displayed at all of the Lexington Three campuses throughout the month of January.

We salute our Board of Trustees members! From left to right: Sonya Cary, Frances Bouknight, Dr. Gariane Gunter, Cheryl Burgess and Ty Bouknight. Not pictured - Stacey Derrick and Craig Caughman.

As a part of School Board Recognition Month, board members also participated in an official signing of the South Carolina School Board Member Ethical Principles poster during their January meeting.